Skip To Main Content
Coruña British International School

Curriculum at Coruña British International School

Coruña British International School is the foremost British school in the city of A Coruña.Our students follow the prestigious English National Curriculum, not only because of its excellent academic reputation, but also because it provides a dynamic, innovative and constantly evolving educational model, with numerous opportunities for academic and personal development.

A multilingual education

Lessons are taught in English at all stages. Additionally our students also follow courses in Spanish from Reception class onwards and begin to learn Galician from Year 2. From Year 5, French is added, so that by the end of primary school, students are able to communicate in four different languages.

How we teach

Our objective is to develop well-rounded individuals, competent in science, technology, humanities and the arts. The educational programme that we offer provides the opportunity to achieve internationally renowned academic qualifications and lays the foundations for a lifelong love of learning, at secondary school, university and beyond. 

We believe it is essential to establish a strong, proactive and cooperative bond between the school and our students’ families. The well-being and personal and academic development of all our pupils is at the heart of our approach and with this in mind we encourage open, positive and ongoing home-school communication



The English National Curriculum outlines a series of key academic and cognitive objectives for every stage of your child’s educational journey. The overall framework is divided into blocks known as Key Stages and student achievement at each Key Stage is evaluated through a mixture of classroom assessment and standardised tests, depending on the stage.

At secondary level our students will study for the International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) examinations at aged 16, and A-Level at aged 18. These are high-regarded, internationally-recognised qualifications, accepted at the best universities in the world. 

Student assessment is ongoing and includes regular evaluations in reading, writing and comprehension, teacher evaluation and reporting, and SATs (Standard Assessment Tests). Using these assessment tools, we build an overall picture of each child’s progress. Structured, continuous assessment allows our teachers to adapt teaching and learning processes to suit the needs of each of our students and to maximise their academic potential.

English National Curriculum Key Stages explained


The British education system is divided into Key Stages with learning assessments at the end of each stage. These are:

  • Early Years Foundation Stage (ages three to five)
  • Key Stage 1: Primary Education Years 1 & 2 (ages five to seven)
  • Key Stage 2: Primary Education Years 3 & 6 (ages seven to 11)
  • Key Stage 3: Secondary Education Years 7 & 9 (ages 11 to 14)
  • Key Stage 4: Secondary Education Years 10-11 (age 15 to 16), culminating in IGCSEs 
  • Sixth Form: Years 12-13 (ages 16 to 18), culminating in A-Level examinations


Governance & Leadership



Values education



Toggle Language Desktop

Toggle Language Mobile



We are dedicated to ensuring that every student feels confident, positive and enthusiastic about learning.